Day 02 – Your Current Relationship

30-Day Meme Challenge Series

I remember one of my 2-year-old kids suddenly blurting, “Wow! Fantastic, baby!” Coming from an Indonesian-speaking little girl, it made me and my assistant teachers laugh. Now, I am borrowing it as it clearly describes my current relationship.

Yes, I consider it fantastic. It is something similar to the product of my hopeless romantic imagination, of my unrestrained fantasies.

He played in a band for my friend’s 18th birthday. We shared the table since his band mate was my friend’s boyfriend. He talked to me on the way home and I slept that night forgetting him.

9 months after, he got the courage to contact me and ask me out. On the 5th of June, I finally agreed to watch his gig with some friends. The night was awesome and I had 2 bottles of beer. He brought me to my best friend’s home where I was staying for the night. I was about to go inside the house when he asked me, “What now?” My head was throbbing. I just want to head in and lie down. He waited and I just nod my head a few times. He stood for a long time just staring at me so it was my time to ask “What now?” He gave me a hug. I went in, he went home.

Five years down the line, I decided to work abroad. I’m in Jakarta, he’s in Manila, we’re more than a thousand miles away from each other. But I felt more loved now than I ever did in the five years that we’ve been together. I am now a firm believer that if two people are really committed to each other, distance does make the heart grow fonder. I get to appreciate every little thing, from the daily morning text messages to the delivered flowers. We look forward to the day we’d meet again. Each day that we miss each other brings us closer to the day we’d meet again. Then, you get to cherish every hug, every holding of hands.

No, I am not saying it’s perfect. We do have our highs and lows. We fuss over trivial things. Nonetheless, these things made what we have more amazing. Arguing gives way to making-up. It confirms the love we share. We suddenly turn into the young lovebirds 5 years ago. I realized we both need it from time to time.

What we have is fantastic. It is something surreal. I know I found a really incredible guy (maybe not handsome as the princes in fairy tales LOL). He’s amazingly patient with a witch like me. He’s got a very guarded personality but he’s not afraid to wear his heart on his sleeve when he’s with me.

I know the uncertainties of life and we may not know what tomorrow will give us. All I know is I love him and that I will hold on to him. This is commitment. I am happy. I know he is too. I believe that’s what’s important.

We have been together for more than 5 years now. That’s exactly 2142 days today. We are less than 2 months away to our 6th year anniversary. We’re going to Bali. I can hardly wait and I know we’ll get the feeling like we’re meeting for the first time. 🙂

Twenty-one hundred and forty-two days ago, I said, “I love you.”
I saw us together in a never-ending rainbow.
Knowing you will be with me in all my tomorrows, makes my today so wonderful.

Twenty-one hundred and forty-two days were spent in an extraordinary rainbow of ups and downs
And reds, yellows and blues, and sometimes even white, grey and black and all the colors in between.
Weird maybe, but what we have is something that people around us find amazing.

Twenty-one hundred and forty-two days ago, I said, “I love you.”
Twenty-one hundred and forty-two days after, I still do.

Categories: 30-Day Meme Challenge | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Day 02 – Your Current Relationship

  1. Pingback: The 30-Day MeMe Challenge « Personal Sanctuary

  2. Pingback: Personal Sanctuary

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

